Avian - PathAVIAN, the melodic metal band featuring guitarist Yan Leviathan, will release a new EP, “The Path”, on September 28. The effort features three new songs plus and acoustic version of “The Fear”. Two of the songs on the EP — “The Path” and “When The Night’s Undone” — will also appear on AVIAN‘s next album, “Midnight At The Tower”, to be released in mid-2011. The other two tracks — “S.S.” (instrumental), and “The Fear” (acoustic) — are exclusive to the EP and will not be featured on the band’s next album.

“The Path” features AVIAN‘s new singer Brian Hollenbeck, who took over the vocal reigns from Lance King. Lance decided to leave the band earlier in the year so that he could focus on family and professional obligations. According to AVIAN, “Lance and Brian have very similar vocal styles which should make for a smooth transition.”

“The Path” EP will be available at all major online stores such as Divine Metal Distro, Amazon.com, CDBaby, and iTunes. It will be available in both physical and digital versions.

“The Path” EP track listing:

01. The Path (4:39)
02. When The Night’s Undone (5:26)
03. S.S. (instrumental) (4:56)
04. The Fear (acoustic) (4:31)

Total running time: 19:33

“The Path” EP cover artwork was created by Mattias Norén and can be viwed below.

AVIAN‘s sophomore album, “Ashes and Madness”, was released in Europe in February 2009 via Germany’s Silverwolf Productions.

Yan Leviathan assembled AVIAN after being inspired by GAMMA RAY‘s performance at the ProgPower USA III festival.